"Holy Catfish, Batman!!!"
"Do you think anyone is going to ask us how much this is going to cost??!!"
"Relax Robin!"
"Just pretend like you're listening! "
[😎 How much will it cost?]
Well, for BECU it is... Priceless!
"Holy Catfish, Batman!!!"
"Do you think anyone is going to ask us how much this is going to cost??!!"
"Relax Robin!"
"Just pretend like you're listening! "
[😎 How much will it cost?]
Well, for BECU it is... Priceless!
🌴 🌴🌴 Sunday: An alternative procession, an alternative journey, an alternative vision...
... which welcomes the poor and outcast, practices grace and forgiveness, and believes that mercy transforms, that justice restores, and that love endures.
A mission statement which no longer can succeed in Sacramento?
Why has the SAFE Board and CEO chosen to lead the membership away from Jerusalem?
Some sort of "imminent threat"?
"On April 16, 2025, I attended the SAFE Credit Union Annual General
Membership meeting. There was no mention on the agenda of any ongoing
merger discussions."
"On November 18, 2025, SAFE Credit Union announced a “merger” with Boeing Employees Credit Union (BECU). BECU has no ties to Sacramento and no business relationships with the Sacramento community."
"I was stunned to hear of this agreement, which was described by SAFE CEO Faye Nabhani as “definitive”."
✅ Scott Rose, a member of SAFE Credit Union since 2002.
"Upon closing, the Credit Union’s charter will be canceled." Crowe LLC (CPAs) - Bombs away!
"Give me your tired, your poor, ..."
America's Credit Unions leading the way with mega-me mergers, flaunting the suppression of member rights? Our "new/new" American credit union movement - now fit for a King?
Merger King! Home of the Whopper!
Featuring today's special: The SAFE/BECU mega-me-me...
"This "burger" is a powerful alignment of purpose and potential that leverages our strengths and recognizes our shared values," said Faye Nabhani, President and Chief Executive Officer of SAFE Credit Union.
"Where's the beef?" asked 245,000 SAFE members in California, who were being forced to pay $400 million in royalties.
😎 Would you like that "Merger Whopper" with cheese sucker, sir?
“Music is a higher revelation..." Ludwig van Beethoven
✔ Here's a revelation you should not miss! [link]
"Mega-me" mergers are off key and tone deaf, difficult to tuna "fish"!
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| Relatively speaking... |
"The SAFE/BECU Mega-Me Merger!"
🔆 Alex Trebek: "Welcome Back! Now let's take a look at the Final Jeopardy wagers of our three contestants!"
✔ Contestant #1:
"Alex, we're All In for: $ + 400 million!"
✔ Contestant #2:
"Alex, we're All Aboard for: $ 0 million!"
✔ Contestant #3:
"Alex, we're All Out for: $ - 400 million!
🔆 And our Final Jeopardy answer is:
"Crazy Train!" [link]
Hey Sacramento, the clock is ticking! This train is trying to leave the station...
"This partnership is a powerful alignment of purpose and potential that
leverages our strengths and recognizes our shared values," said Faye Nabhani,
President and Chief Executive Officer of SAFE Credit Union.
😎 Let's take a quick look at SAFE fees and see if "Measurable value through reduced fees" holds up to scrutiny. Here's the fee schedule from SAFE's audited financials:
2024 (000) 2023 (000)
✔ Overdraft protection fees $ 12,374 $ 12,089
✔ Checking account fees 3,221 3,778
✔Money Market and Savings account fees 340 348
✔Commercial account fees 355 336
Member and consumer fees 919 946
✔ ATM fees 2,214 2,133
✔ Shared branching fees 1,007 917
Other fee income 53 56
✔ Debit card fees 22,202 23,087 ✔ Credit Card Interchange fees 5,005 5,124
✔ Investment fees 5,477 4,769
Gain on sale/other 18 -
Total $ 53,185 $ 53,583
✅ As you see, SAFE collects @ $53 million in fees annually. But not all fees are created equally! For example:
1) Debit/credit card fees are not charged directly to SAFE members by the credit union. These fees are charged by folks like MC/Visa on your purchases and then shared back with the CU - these fees represent over one-half ($27+million) of the total $53 million. These fees will not change.
2) Investment and commercial account fees are fees which specific members negotiate based on their specific business or wealth management needs. These are generally subject to renegotiation by members annually, without any need for merger!
3) ATM/shared branching fees are charged only to SAFE members/non-members who choose to occasionally use these services and are shared back among participating credit unions. These fees are generally set cooperatively by multiple credit unions. These fees will not change.
4) Checking/MMSA account fees - Hard to say exactly what these are, but with total fees @ $3.6 million and over 200,000 total accounts, that works out to about a buck-fifty fee per account per month! Even a full $1.50 per month reduction won't buy you a cup of coffee at Starbucks - in Seattle!
5) Overdraft/NSF fees is the elephant in the room! An issue of increasing embarrassment to all credit unions. Many banks have dropped this often corrosive, punitive fee practice altogether. SAFE charges $14 and BECU charges $10. If SAFE lowered its fee to match the $10 BECU rate, the worst case scenario in lowered income would be $3,534,000, much cheaper than paying $400+ million to mega-me merge!
😎 "Measurable value through reduced fees"... doesn't seem feasible?!
And appears to be a feeble excuse to giveaway a credit union...
English idiom meaning:
"To use up or consume resources that are essential for future growth or success."
Article: "The planned merger between SAFE Credit Union and BECU will lead to the removal of SAFE’s headquarters from the Sacramento region, as the combined entity will be led from BECU’s existing headquarters in Washington state. SAFE Credit Union is currently based in Folsom, California and has played a significant role in the local financial sector, but the merged organization will shift its central operations out of the area." [link]
SAFE Credit Union’s headquarters relocation means the Sacramento area will lose a major locally based financial headquarters.
This continues a trend of regional consolidations and relocations as credit unions nationwide merge to scale operations and broaden service offerings.
SAFE currently serves about 245,000 members in Northern California and has 17 regional branches.
The merger will allow the combined organization to bring expanded products and resources to SAFE’s existing member base, but operational decisions and strategic direction will primarily come from Washington.
'Overall, this merger reflects an ongoing consolidation in the credit union industry and is expected to have a notable effect on Sacramento’s profile as a regional banking center."
A harmful, cornball idea for all of California?
SAFE/BECU A Merger Of Equals?
Really? [link]
Nah,...bah... 🍌🍌🍌 Bananae!!!
"This deal is not good for SAFE members."
"1) Loss of total control and autonomy of their capital, pricing, where they invest, etc.
2) BECU has inferior rates, and a huge expense problem.
3)
Little future investment for SAFE.
4) SAFE's legacy culture will not be
acquired and assimilated.
5) SAFE members absolutely will lose what they are used to.
6)
BECU and others avoid hiring in CA because of messy labor laws. 7) No local authority or autonomy. "
Like comparing an apple with an outrage...
Somethings just don't mix!
✅ Oil and water, a cat in a dog park, fire and ice, chewing gum and potato chips, you and your ex!
✔ The SAFE and BECU merger .... a fish on a bicycle?
California Washington State
State Animal: Grizzly Bear Marmot Squirrel
State Insect: Butterfly Dragonfly
State Sport: Surfing Pickle Ball
State Dance: West Coast Swing Square Dance
State Weather: Sunshine Rain
... some might say the forecast for this dance looks a little squirrelly! [link]
Lipstick on a pig or a marriage made in he....?
SAFE members to receive "vested" rights in BECU!
CEOs still assure smooth sailing... bigger is always better!
In The Godfather Mergers series [link], we've been examining the predatory, fiduciary misconduct which is developing around credit union mergers.
The chosen example has been the proposed SAFE/BECU merger in California to illustrate potential problems; but fiduciary malpractice in credit union mergers appears to be reaching pandemic proportions.
Let's look at yet another example of how financially unsound the credit union giveaway by the SAFE Board and CEO really is. No one disputes that the SAFE Board and CEO are in effect "paying" somewhere between $400 to $800 million in member equity [see link above] for the "privilege" of merging with BECU. A "privilege" that every SAFE member can obtain for free by simply joining BECU directly. In effect, the SAFE Board and CEO are forcing every SAFE member to pay @ $1,600 in cash/equity for the privilege of exporting their credit union service and control to Washington State.
Another damning analysis of what the SAFE Board and CEO are giving away is the value of the member relationships which SAFE as worked hard to build up over the years. In "marketing" terms these relationships are called "customer acquisition costs" (CAC). Companies literally spend millions on marketing to attract - and keep - customers, i.e. credit union members!
As you can see from the chart below, it costs @ $175 to attract a new member account. In the case of SAFE with 244,000 members, this means BECU is getting 244,000 new members for free! That's worth $175 x 244,000 = $42.7 million! "Privilege" has it's price, in this case "free"!!!
😎 But it's worse than you think! The giveaway by the SAFE Board and CEO is much, much larger! While SAFE does have 244,000 members, it manages over 550.000 accounts of all types according to the NCUA.
✔ Let's compute the real, total value of "CAC" giveaway by SAFE: $175 x 550,000 accounts = $96.25 million!
The SAFE Board and CEO find it very easy to give away "other peoples' money" (OPM) ... but heck, what's $100 million give-or-take among friends!
The Promises, Promises New/New Elixer
✅ Comment: Anonymous March 9, 2026 at 4:14 PM
"A
very major flaw in this thinking is the notion that you get to choose
who you are competing against, when Fintechs, banks, and credit unions
market to and come after our members to serve their financial needs on
the very same products we offer. We lost 5 billion in deposits a few
years back. Where do you suppose that went? If banks got their
pro-rata market share they got a lot 3 billion of it. If we had said
“hey members. FYI, we don’t compete with banks”. I guess we coulda kept
the 3 billion. Is that how that works?
Otherwise just an
intellectually lazy comment to say all bankers are poor communicators,
or can’t understand a credit union model and mission"
or later, or whenever! "We'll let you know what you need to know when you need to know. [..'cause we really have no clue!]
😎 4:14pm The problem with your analysis is you rarely get your facts right. SECU dropped the $5 billion because we were underpaying the members... SECU looked inept and cheap. Poor management, not a question of competitiveness.
Also seem to overlook that when SECU woke up and returned to paying fair rates, that $5 billion immediately came back. Or hadn't you noticed. If you hadn't noticed, see ""Poor management" above!
The $5 billion didn't come back due to any noticeable new tech or new services recently offered at SECU - nothing much new of note has happened in last 5 years. You're living off the "dinosaur" of which you complain; which is kinda like still living at home in the basement while criticizing your parents!
Might be time to demonstrate to members there really is some substance to the "new/new"... talk is cheap. (see "Cheap" above as reference). What exactly is the"new/new" going to be whenever you get around to introducing it?
A bit faster, a little more convenient... or something more substantive like better savings rates, lower loan rates? What can we expect in the "new/new" afterlife? (that you've been working on for 5 years?)
Hey, give us a hint... if you can!
Two other points: 1) It's not the bankers who are failing to understand the credit union model and mission, and 2) there is a tremendous difference between "being competitive" and "competing with".
😎 Not convinced that you know "There is a difference" (see #1 &2)... actually pretty sure you don't... and no fintech or "half-ba(n)ked" vision is going to bail you out.Bottom line: Not knowing what you're doing - and not knowing you don't ! - has a tendency to metastasize... rather quickly.
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| "Twilight Zone" |
Nobody said it better than the Golden Earring. No, this is not the golden earring you fearfully imagine sprouting some day from your teenager’s nose or navel. It’s the late ‘70s rock group and the song is “Twilight Zone”. The question: “Steppin’ out into the twilight zone. Entering the Madhouse, fears that have grown...
![]() |
| "Why don't you download this app..." |
"To Bee or not to..." [link]
Think that's more than a "Bee'-hive being stirred, folks!
✅ February 28, 2026: by Scott J. Rose - a member of SAFE Credit Union since 2002. He is a retired local physician. [link]
"A credit union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative owned by its members. But who actually benefits when a financially sound credit union is handed over to another credit union? This is what the SAFE Credit Union Board of Directors voted in secret to do.
On Nov. 18, 2025, SAFE leadership announced that SAFE Credit Union had signed a “definitive” agreement to “combine” with the Boeing Employees’ Credit Union (BECU), a Washington-based credit union with no previous ties to Sacramento.
SAFE Credit Union is a treasured local institution, a member-owned, not-for-profit financial cooperative founded in 1940 as the Sacramento Air Force Employees Credit Union. SAFE was built by successive generations of Sacramento families, workers and small businesses, deposit by deposit and car loan by car loan. SAFE’s growth was not an accident: It was a product of loyalty and shared purpose. But that social compact is about to be violated. If this transaction is allowed to occur, SAFE Credit Union as we know it will simply disappear.
The public interest group Propublica reported that in 2024, SAFE had total assets of $4.31 billion and total liabilities of $3.96 billion, nearly all from member deposits. The difference — nearly $350 million — is the owner equity, and it belongs to the members, who are the owners. But member-owners will receive nothing from this transaction. Deals like this merger into BECU are often shrouded in secrecy and sprung upon members with no advance notice and no transparency.
BECU is headquartered near Seattle. This merger serves no apparent logical business or economic purpose. At the Annual Meeting of Members on April 16, 2025, there was nothing on the agenda to suggest that a merger was in the works. In a letter I received, Board Chair Rick Blumenfeld acknowledged that the Board of Directors had established a merger committee and had “engaged outside merger advisors” prior to April 16, 2025. This confirms to me that the merger negotiations were conducted in secrecy and deliberately concealed from the members — a clear violation of the board’s fiduciary responsibility to act in the best interests of its members.
Since 1940, successive generations of SAFE leadership have expanded engagement with the Sacramento region. SAFE’s ties to the community ensure that the interests of our region always come first. SAFE has competitive advantages, including decades of member loyalty, local knowledge, organizational relationships and unfolding opportunities to meet members’ needs, such as housing, business loans and support for local institutions. In 2025, SAFE reported total local philanthropy of $437,000 — not including $23 million for the naming rights to the Sacramento Performing Arts Center in 2019, paid over the next 25 years. These commitments are in jeopardy if SAFE becomes a BECU branch operation. Philanthropy follows corporate headquarters.
SAFE’s assets belong to its members. All member equity — $350 million — should belong to its members and not BECU. At the very least, all 245,000 SAFE members must be paid a minimum of $1,400 each for their ownership equity if this deal actually happens. Member-owners, local leaders and potentially impacted community organizations must speak out. What will be lost is not simply an accounting abstraction — it is real community wealth. California regulators are being asked to approve this deal. But once approved, it cannot be undone."
Truth and "Roses" have thorns about them. – Henry David Thoreau (Thank goodness!)
Q: "What's this stuff we keep hearing about these credit union "mega-me mergers" ? "
A: "Well, Senator, credit unions are a lot different now, than when you and I were growing up and still trying to do right."
Monday March 2, 2026 [link] "Who Owns the Equity in Merger of BECU, SAFE CU?"
Q: "It's those bankers after you again, isn't it!"
A: "Not really Senator. Here's the problem... "
We may have become... "wicked in our pride"!